BOARD MINUTES BEMENT COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION JUNE 9, 2021

The regular meeting of the Bement Community Unit School District 5 Board of Education was held Wednesday, June 9, 2021 in the small gym. The meeting was called to order by board president Todd Scott at 7:02 p.m.

Board members present were Lana Somers, Kyle Rogers, Todd Scott, Denise Strack, Trixie Stoerger-Flavin and Jeff Funk.

Board member Janice Fogerson was absent at the time of the roll call. She joined the meeting at 7:08 p.m.

Superintendent Dr. Sheila Greenwood and PreK-12 assistant principal Steve Cline were presented honorary Bement High School diplomas by the board of education. Dr. Greenwood and Mr. Cline are retiring at the end of June, 2021.

Mr. Kepley gave his middle school/high school principal's report on middle school honors night and high school graduation, 2021-2022 projected enrollment, and middle school Students of the Quarter.

Mr. Cline gave his report on the new uniforms ordered for the middle school athletic teams.

Dr. Greenwood gave her grade school principal's report on end of the year activities.

Dr. Greenwood gave her superintendent's report on the boiler project and security at the sports field. Dr. Greenwood told the board that Deland Weldon Superintendent Amanda Geary had accepted the interim position for the month of July.

A motion was made by Somers and seconded by Strack that the closed session minutes of the May 12, 2021 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Funk that the open session minutes of the May 12, 2021 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger-Flavin and seconded by Scott that the board accept and pay all bills as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

The board reviewed the treasurer's report.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Funk that the board adjourn to closed session at 7:30 p.m. to discuss the employment, performance, appointment and compensation of specific employees, and employee resignations. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Somers that the board return to open session at 8:14 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Strack that the board hire Sam Dalton for the 2021 summer work crew. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Somers that the board approve the high school student handbook. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Funk that the board approve the middle school student handbook. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Somers and seconded by Strack that the board approve the grade school student handbook. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board increase the substitute teacher daily rate of pay to \$110 per day. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board hire Amanda Geary as the interim superintendent for the month of July 2021. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Somers that the board approve the extra-curricular assignments as presented for the 2021-2022 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Rogers that the board approve the induction of William (Bill) F. Tracy II, BHS Class of 1965 and Stephen Rittenhouse, BHS Class of 1963 into the Bement High School Hall of Fame for 2021. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board approve the following individuals to serve two-year terms on the Bement High School Hall of Fame Selection Committee: Brandi (Lawson) Garlutzo, Class of 1995; Julie (Walsh) Breuning, Class of 1997 and Curt Fogerson, Class of 1998. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Funk that the board accept the resignation of Sharon Gregory as the afternoon/evening custodian. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Rogers that the board adjourn at 8:22 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

BOARD PRESIDENT

BOARD SECRETARY